June 26th 2024, Montmeló – Molly Taylor is set to return to #Yellowsquad for two rounds of this year’s FIA RX2e Championship. Taylor will enter the rallycross action at the Höljes season-opener, next weekend (6-7 July), before returning for the season finale in Montalegre, Portugal in September. Taylor will re-join full-time #YellowSquad driver Isak Sjökvist, who enters the 2024 season having finished second in the 2023 RX2e championship standings.

The Australian driver made her debut last year and immediately impressed. Although Taylor gained valuable experience last season, the two circuits she will be racing in this year will be new challenges. 

In 2023, Taylor’s campaign consisted of Mettet in Belgium and the championship showdown at Estering in Germany. She made steady improvements across both weekends that led to a final position of 8th overall at the season finale. 

“I’m delighted to be driving in RX2e once again for two races this season and I want to say a huge thank you to E.ON Next for their continued support of my racing career. It’s great to be working with my Extreme E teammate Kevin Hansen and is an opportunity to hone my race craft with Hansen Motorsport and the #Yellowsquad team. I had my first taste of rallycross last season, and I learnt a lot, so I’m looking forward to putting everything I experienced last season back into practice”, she said regarding her return to RX2e this year.

Molly Taylor developed interest in motorsport racing and rally from a young age, her mother being a four-time Australian Champion co-driver. Taylor was the first female accepted into the Australian Motor Sports Foundation International Rising Star. In 2011, she was part of the World Rally Championship Pirelli Star Driver program and one of the youngest and the only female driver participating in the WRC. She has won several championships including back-to-back Australian Rally Championships in the F16 Class for 2007 and 2008.

In 2009, she became the British Ladies Rally Champion, the first driver from outside of the United Kingdom to win the title. In 2016, Taylor won the Australian Rally Championship overall classification. She was the first female to do so, and at the time, the youngest ever to do it regardless of the gender.

Besides from rallycross, she is teammates with #Yellowsquad Founder, Kevin Hansen, in Extreme E. The pair is currently third in the standings.

The FIA RX2e series will be supporting four rounds of the FIA World Rallycross Championship for 2024, in Sweden, Hungary (27-28 July), Belgium (17-18 August) and Portugal, and #Yellowsquad will be looking to score every possible point.

Leave a Reply