20th June 2022

The entry list for the opening round of the 2022 FIA RX2e Championship – the second season of the all-electric FIA World Rallycross Championship support series – has been officially revealed, with ten drivers set to do battle for glory at Höljes in Sweden next month (2-3 July).

Following the success of last year’s inaugural campaign – when Guillaume De Ridder and Jesse Kallio fought tooth-and-nail for the coveted crown – expectations are high for a sizzling sophomore season, and the legendary ‘Magic Weekend’ has attracted an intriguing entry list.

Spain’s Pablo Suárez, rising British star Patrick O’Donovan – son of 2007 British Rallycross Champion Ollie O’Donovan, who is also competing, in Euro RX1 – and Sweden’s own Isak Sjökvist were embroiled in a fierce tussle for third place in the overall standings last year, and all three are back for more in 2022.

“I’m really happy to announce that I will be competing in RX2e again this year,” enthused British Rallycross Championship leader O’Donovan, who also shone on his FIA European Rallycross Championship bow in Hungary last month in the headlining Euro RX1 category. “I learned a lot last year and had a lot of fun in the process. This year my aims are to build upon last year’s performance and try to challenge for top results.

“I have really enjoyed racing the Supercar in the British Championship and other events so far this season, and while the cars are obviously very different in some ways, the experience has been really beneficial and I hope to carry that forward with me into RX2e. Let’s see what we can do. I’m also excited to go to Höljes with a full crowd for the first time; it’s a special event and I think it’s going to be even better this year.”

To the delight of the Höljes faithful, Sjökvist reached the rostrum on his series debut on home soil last summer, while countryman Nils Andersson was similarly impressive, placing third in the intermediate standings. Under the tutelage of multiple world champion Johan Kristoffersson, the 22-year-old will be aiming to finish the job he started ten months ago.

Leading the female charge, meanwhile, will be Extreme E front-runner Catie Munnings and 14-time FIM Women’s Trial World Champion Laia Sanz, who made her RX2e bow at Spa-Francorchamps last year.

00Patrick O’DONOVANGBRPatrick O’DonovanGBR
3Catie MUNNINGSGBRCatie MunningsGBR
13Viktor VRANCKXBELBert VranckxBEL
14Nils ANDERSSONSWEKristoffersson MotorsportSWE
28Filip THORÉNSWEQEV MotorsportESP
44Laia SANZESPAcciona Sainz XE TeamESP
77Mark FLAHERTYGBRMark FlahertyGBR
82Isak SJÖKVISTSWEIsak SjökvistSWE

Leave a Reply